MarkMods Forums

  • 13 December 2019
     
    Advanced search  
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.         Login with username, password and session length
Pages:  1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13   Go Down

Author Topic: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN  (Read 80306 times)

5476

  • Forum Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Swat4 Poland Community
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #105 on: 14 October 2012 »

My not :(
Logged
Danke Team Markmod für die professionelle Hilfe und Unterstützung für unserem Server. Wir freuen uns sehr über diese Kooperation.
Poland=Poland=Poland

|MYT|Edward

  • Beta Test Crew
  • Forum Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #106 on: 14 October 2012 »


It's only a hypothesis but, maybe that URL is not stored in any file (I tried to search everywhere in the System directory)...I believe that "Swat4DedicatedServer.exe" builds that URL simply concatenating the string ".available.gamespy.com" after a parameter taken from "Swat4DedicatedServer.ini".
Can someone try to change these rows from that INI file?
Code: [Select]
[URL]
Protocol=foo
[IpServer.UdpServerQuery]
GameName=foo
[IpDrv.UdpBeacon]
BeaconProduct=foo
Then maybe let us know if it still tries to contact "swat4.available.gamespy.com" or the URL is changed to "foo.available.gamespy.com".


Agree with you, i checked ini files too, but i don't know edit unreal file (*.u), because maybe the answer is in it. ;) I checked IPDrv.u & ini with a text editor (notepad++) and nothing really interesting.

But, i said "i hope that could help" :)
Logged

xfire : edwardbeer

robert.a.walsh@gmail.com

  • Guest
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #107 on: 14 October 2012 »

Has anyone considered OpenSpy?

They have a masterserver which has supported games in the past which GameSpy have dropped.
I talked to the creator and he gave me a patch which changes the hosts from GameSpy servers to OpenSpy servers.

Administrator Comment Please do not place links to .exe files which don\'t past all security tests of the most common anti-virus applications.

Of course this needs to be done on the servers too, but we couldn't upload the patch to our server to run (not sure why). Is there a way to change the host manually? (.ini file or something). If this is successful, it may be a temp solution.

Please contact me,
Administrator Comment Your Xfire address has been removed, since we do not fully trust your plans, due to your unsafe link.
« Last Edit: 15 October 2012 by MarkieBoy »
Logged

|MYT|Edward

  • Beta Test Crew
  • Forum Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #108 on: 14 October 2012 »

we could try to modify the file "hosts", insert swat4.availbable.gamespy.com with the IP of an "personnal DB" on a server and a client, register the server when it send connection infos and send infos to client !?
Logged

xfire : edwardbeer

robert.a.walsh@gmail.com

  • Forum Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #109 on: 15 October 2012 »

we could try to modify the file "hosts", insert swat4.availbable.gamespy.com with the IP of an "personnal DB" on a server and a client,

I have done this on the client (my hosts file)
But how to edit the host of the Swat4DedicatedServer?

register the server when it send connection infos and send infos to client !?

I don't understand this bit...
Logged
UBP|»Polar
Xfire = robawalsh

Mark

  • Administrator
  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1.051
    • View Profile
    • MarkMods
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #110 on: 15 October 2012 »

we could try to modify the file "hosts", insert swat4.availbable.gamespy.com with the IP of an "personnal DB" on a server and a client,

I have done this on the client (my hosts file)
But how to edit the host of the Swat4DedicatedServer?


Alter it in your host file as well on your server machine. Btw, this is a solution most GSP (Game Server Providers) won't like, they would need to build a special script to update all their host files.

Mark

  • Administrator
  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1.051
    • View Profile
    • MarkMods
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #111 on: 15 October 2012 »

As promised, I'll give you guys an update once in a while:

Status new mainserver:
SWAT 4 server modBeta v1 released
Mainserver Beta released
Web serverlist txt 0%
Web serverlist GUI 0%
ClientMod ingame server browser0%
Installer Client mod0%
« Last Edit: 15 October 2012 by MarkieBoy »
Logged

robert.a.walsh@gmail.com

  • Forum Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #112 on: 15 October 2012 »

we could try to modify the file "hosts", insert swat4.availbable.gamespy.com with the IP of an "personnal DB" on a server and a client,

I have done this on the client (my hosts file)
But how to edit the host of the Swat4DedicatedServer?


Alter it in your host file as well on your server machine. Btw, this is a solution most GSP (Game Server Providers) won't like, they would need to build a special script to update all their host files.


I'm not sure how to edit it on the server... I edited mine in C:/Windows/System32/drivers/etc/hosts but this does not exist in the server.
Logged
UBP|»Polar
Xfire = robawalsh

GeneralONeill

  • Forum Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #113 on: 15 October 2012 »

I think the server uses the host file and the connection fu.ctions of the operating system. I think swat4 has no own hosts file.
Logged

MrElie

  • Forum Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #114 on: 15 October 2012 »

Discussion Thread
 Response Via Email (Michael)   10/14/2012 06:46 PM
Thank you for contacting Glu Mobile Customer Care. We apologize for the delay.

We do not provide support for GameSpy, you should contact GameSpy directly for any support issues or questions with their service.

Regards,
Glu Mobile Customer Care.
Logged

minetimeteamhelp@web.de

  • Forum Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #115 on: 15 October 2012 »

Hey have ask Glu-Mobile too...

Glu-Mobile:

Thank you for contacting Glu Customer Service.

We regret to inform you that Glu is no longer providing updates and support for the game that you are inquiring about. Platform changes, operating system upgrades, and the introduction of new mobile device hardware often contribute to our decision to discontinue support for certain games.

We appreciate your enthusiasm for Glu games and encourage you to explore our great new titles in the app stores.

Regards,
Glu Mobile Customer Care
Logged

Rev

  • Forum Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #116 on: 15 October 2012 »

Hi guys. Hi Mark.

First of all a dumb question. I remember that on Swat4 version 1.2 (unofficial ofc) and on mods like SSF the in-game server list was showing just the 1.2 and SSF-modded servers. Probably the list was still based on GameSpy but i can't be 100% sure since i only have the server-side files in this moment. The 1.2 probably was just a "filter" on game_ver parameter but i can't say anything about mods. It's just an idea.

About the rest we emailed GameSpy (IGN or whatever) asking 2 question. First if they can let us (us => community - not just 1 hoster) host the masterserver since Swat is no longer part of their plans. Then i asked if they could simply set the A record of their masterserver hostname to point to our alternative "coming-asap" query protocol. In this way we don't need to edit the game or play with the host file. Same game, same servers. Let's see what happens.
Logged

JusticeSK

  • Forum Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #117 on: 15 October 2012 »

Can anyone give me instruction what need to do :( i don't understand what you wrote here (like: changing .ini , .u files .... etc)
Thx!
Logged

aXn

  • Forum Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #118 on: 15 October 2012 »

As promised, I'll give you guys an update once in a while:

Status new mainserver:
SWAT 4 server modBeta v1 released
where to download the beta ?
Mainserver Beta released
Web serverlist txt 0%
Web serverlist GUI 0%
ClientMod ingame server browser0%
Installer Client mod0%

where can i download the mod ?
« Last Edit: 15 October 2012 by aXn »
Logged

GeneralONeill

  • Forum Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: BREAKING: SWAT4 SERVER LIST DOWN
« Reply #119 on: 15 October 2012 »

@aXn
You must be a beta tester to download. So no download for the communit, now.
Logged
Pages:  1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13   Go Up